First Camera Sample Photos of Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

I have found out some sample photos taken in full resolution with the 3.2Mpx Carl Zeiss optics autofocusing camera of the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic while surfing on a Taiwanese website called ePrice.

Thanks god, the picture quality isn’t like the one on the Nokia E66 and E71. It seems that Carl Zeiss does indeed make difference. The picture quality seems to be on par with the Nokia N78, which sports 3.2Mpx Carl Zeiss optics autofocusing camera as well. It has nice details and accurate colors.

Please be aware that the sample photos are produced in prototype units of Nokia 5800 therefore it’s very likely that the quality will be improved in the final unit.

Click on the images to view in full resolution.

~ by Haekon Oh on October 6, 2008.

45 Responses to “First Camera Sample Photos of Nokia 5800 XpressMusic”

  1. […] sample photos […]

  2. the camera is that good huh? i’m impressed.

  3. Apparently these photos are taken in Singapore.

    You can spot the Singapore Flyer and the Oriental Fan Hotel in the below link.

  4. Very interesting article, i bookmarked your blog, thanks for share

  5. Yes, very good!
    Excellent post. Congratulations!!

  6. Yea i have the nokia 5800 right now and i definitely don’t think its that good. Its a genuine 5800 and there is sooooooooo much noise in this thing it drives me nuts. I love this phone since i’ve had every other nseries to day and now using this expressmusic phone i think the only flaw is the shitty camera.

  7. i have on too and the quality is not that good…too many greenish thingy and it is not clear and crisp comapred to a 2MP camera music phone i am so diappointed ,,,yeah music phone but it is a carl zeiss lens and it is 3.2MP..duh tried everything

  8. love da phone hate the camera…very bad picture quality considering the fast its a 3.2 MP camera with Carl Zeiss optics

  9. Those photo’s were definately not taken with the Nokia 5800, the photos should be far more pixelated and more like a cheap pound shop digi web cam, or the camera used for video calling than a 3.2mp camera. I have this phone and it’s brilliant, but the camera really lets it down unfortunately in a big big way. If you want this phone for it’s camera then I’d suggest to stay clear of it, it’s an mp3/video/phone and thats it.

  10. Carl Zeiss Camera usually do not give good quality images…

  11. yes me too I got the phone but I sooooo disapointed with the camera it is aweful compared to other 3.2 cameras qualities my brother has nokia n73 and it is much better,I think nokia should do something even after the firmware update the camera is still not improved may be it needs a software it is really making a bad image for carl zeiss but to be fare every thing else in the phone is fine and works very well I think the camera is the only disadvantage.

  12. yup !! i have this one… i ever had n73… and the camera quality is MUCH BETTER than nokia 5800… ugh… very dissapointed with the camera…!!!

  13. Camera is the worst part of 5800. If u re looking for a cam phone, better choose something else.

  14. As all others even I have only this single word to convey,its all about the bad Camera in my new Xpress 5800, I bought it with a great expectation leaving my old N73 behaind, but I should say that I am proud to tell you all that my Old N73 has a great smarter cam than this stuff. I really regret in this.
    I am asking each one of you who is a Nokia 5800 owner to collectively protest against this and tell them to replace the cam and upgrade it and give our 5800 phones. Please everyone think of it. Thats my request in serious.

  15. As all others even I have only this single word to convey,its all about the bad Camera in my new Xpress 5800, I bought it with a great expectation leaving my old N73 behind, but I should say that I am proud to tell you all that my Old N73 has a great smarter cam than this stuff. I really regret in this.
    I am asking each one of you who is a Nokia 5800 owner to collectively protest against this and tell them to replace the cam and upgrade it and give our 5800 phones. Please everyone think of it. Thats my request in serious.

  16. I support Dr.Neison’s request, we should do something, the camera is soooo disappointed that I’m ashamed to take and show picture someone else…I’m speechless.

  17. It is sad how bad the camera is! We bought it with so much expectation that a 3.2 mpx cam with Carl Zeiss lens would do magic! But I was so crestfallen with the picture quality. I feel cheated. If Nokia wants to maintain its reputation in the market, they really need to recall all 5800s, fix the camera and return the set to their owners. This is shameful! I am fedup of the grainy pics and explaining to people that although its an expensive phone, the camera is shitty, so I’m sorry your pics didn’t come out as well as you expected.

  18. why isn’t it in aspect ratio 16:9? -PLEASE REPLY because i’m buying this phone…

  19. Today I bought this damn hyped gadget….after clicking some shots in the dim light I rushed to the reviews regarding camera…now I’m reading all these comments I know that im nt the lone sufferer….Im kinda feeling cheated….

    YES the biggest disappointment is camera ….no more than 1.3 mp quality in stills…

  20. Oops Its Pathetic phone camera is so awful that i cannot use in front of my friend’s…..please dont buy this phone….

  21. Maybe a VGA camera can be on par with this shitty camera. NOKIA PLS DO SOMETHING!!!!

  22. i just buy 5800xm 2 days ago.. very2 dispointed with the camera.. B4 dis i used sony ericsson K800i with 3.2 mp camera and its far2 away good compare to this 5800xm camera.. i sell the fon for buying this 5800xm.. (*_*)

  23. i’m also disappointed.. i own a n73me and the camera was awesome i sold it to buy this phone and the camera was so shity

  24. hey!! dudes….dont worry about ur 5800 i m having it for about 3 months…just do an firmware update and then check out the things….camera not upto that level(as of 73) but with few other firmware updates that will come…..so enjoy your 5800 and have patience…..nokia is working

  25. […] speakers that were not properly protected from moisture. This was a bit of a setback for the 5800 because it was being positioned as a strong multimedia player.  […]

  26. absolutely agree with most comments camera is a joke nokia should be ashamed of their unacceptable so called 3.2 megapixel carl zeiss camera colours are washed out and lack definition this is after hours of tweaking pity because the rest is very good cannot recommend this phone on the strength of a major flaw..

  27. Hey im thinking of buying wat should i do

  28. Hi, I agree with this. I have the phone for 9 months now. The camera is a huge setback. Hyped as the next big thing when they launched, I cannot imagine they did such poor work with the camera. The worst part is the Nokia people dont even seem to respond to any camera related queries.Very bad experience with the camera!!!!

  29. i had a k800 se phone and i sold it to buy thos thing , and what a mistake it was , unresponsive , weak sound and of course VGA CAMERA , stay away

  30. I got a nokia 5800 I am satisfied except by the 3.2 MPx camera. The pictures taken has too much noise. Indoor pictures looks like a VGA CAM.

  31. for indoor shots try these settings:

    -scene mode: night (not night portrait)
    -light sensitivity (ISO): low
    -flash: always on

    (if programming these settings on user mode, results are not as good…)

  32. ZZZ…guys din’t you see vishwasmassey’s comment? He said there will be a firmware update. So chill…even I’m getting this phone…(:

  33. N82 Is the best mobile phone in the camera..^^
    But i don’t know guys do i buy 5800 or not?

  34. hmm..comparison between nokia and sony..
    nokia is with good battry backbup and singnal will be good are the advantages
    sony has lot of sound and image quality of picture is good
    so u can choose what is important for u

  35. thanxs for this useful information.

  36. I have Nokia 5800 too and I am very disappoited with the camera, it’s NO GOOD!!! Very Blurry…My friends 2.0MP is better than my Nokia 5800!

  37. do i buy this phone or e66?

  38. […] [Images Via] […]

  39. i have same phone but Camera result is fogy bad quality image result i have take pics without back cover but so sad for me Result is same plzzz help me how i fix my camera result like 5230 is better then 5800 but how… i cant understand my cell problem plzz help me????

  40. 5800??? Wat a useless product?? Image, blur…video, greenish.?…nokia co, stop advertising dis fon, it isnt worth it.

  41. i too experiencd poor camera quality of nokia 5800..sm1 said to take photos aftr takng d cover..bt no use..then i just wiped d inner lens wit a ear bud..surprise, nw havng good photos..try it,jst gently touch wit d bud…cheers

  42. Nice Theme…
    Thanks for the useful information!
    Regards,
    canon dslr

  43. Im buying this phone.. I have two options whether i buy this or then nokia n85.. im buying a phone with good camera, i know a lot of comments about 5800 about having bad camera,, mmm but i can find a way to fix that, the same to my nokia e65, at first it have a worst quality pictures so i remove the lends cover and wipe the inner lens, then it was good… the lens cover was our major culprit,, but i want to know if the phone camera inner lens and flash share the same cover, because im not taking the lens cover if they sare the cover.. sorry for my bad english.
    and one things.. im tired of s60v3 phones.. i like nokia but i want to experience a touch phone.. at first i hate touch phone but now i want one so that’s why im choosing 5800 rather than n85, if nokia 5800 is available.. :))

  44. is it possible to put a 12 megapixel of 5800 xpressmusic

  45. the best nokia phones are nokia n8 nokia 808 pureview…….coz i have them and they are capturing DSLR type photos……..they are the best…..u wanna check them in online……..

Leave a Reply

 
